Land Use

The Purdue University Land Use Team provides research-based resources and educational programs for Extension professionals, government officials and residents on land use issues impacting their communities. Land Use Team efforts are underpinned by a timely and rigorous professional development system that prepares Purdue Extension professionals to effectively serve on Plan Commissions.

Overview

Delivering Information to Assist Plan Commissions in Making Informed Planning Decisions

Indiana is the only state in the United States in which Extension Educators are legislatively mandated to serve on Area Plan Commissions. Therefore, Purdue University is uniquely positioned to leverage this mandate to support Extension programming that addresses land use issues in Indiana. Current pressing issues, including the evolving rural/urban interface, developing and implementing sustainable strategies and supporting place-based economic development, all require attention at the state, regional and local levels in Indiana.

The Land Use Team’s primary responsibility is to develop and deliver robust information that assists Plan Commissions and other related institutions/organizations in making informed decisions based on a thorough understanding of the alternatives and consequences related to land use planning decisions. Purdue Extension’s Land Use Team plays a critical role across Indiana through the work of Agriculture & Natural Resources (ANR) Educators serving on Plan Commissions and Community Development Educators working on land use issues.

Resources

Team

 

Team Position Name Job Title Email
Co-Chair Jeff Burbrink Purdue Extension Educator, Elkhart County, Agriculture & Natural Resources jburbrink@purdue.edu
Co-Chair Steve Yoder Purdue Extension Community Development Regional Educator yoder46@purdue.edu
Secretary Amanda Mosiman Purdue Extension Educator, Warrick County, Agriculture & Natural Resources bailey1@purdue.edu
Training and Mentoring Committee Chair Dave Osborne County Extension Director, Purdue Extension Educator, Ripley County, 4-H Youth Development, Agriculture & Natural Resources dave@purdue.edu
Publications and Materials Committee Chair Kris Medic County Extension Director, Purdue Extension Educator, Bartholomew County, Community Development, Agriculture & Natural Resources krismedic@purdue.edu
Structure and Guiding Documents Committee Chair Brad Kohlhagen Purdue Extension Educator, Adams County, Agriculture & Natural Resources bkohlhag@purdue.edu
Team Member Greg Bossaer Assistant Program Leader, Agriculture & Natural Resources gbossaer@purdue.edu
Team Member Valerie Clingerman County Extension Director, Purdue Extension Educator, Knox County, Agriculture & Natural Resources clingerman@purdue.edu
Team Member Annie Cruz-Porter Purdue Community and Regional Development Specialist acruzpor@purdue.edu
Team Member Craig Dobbins Professor of Agricultural Economics cdobbins@purdue.edu
Team Member Paul Ebner Associate Professor of Animal Sciences pebner@purdue.edu
Team Member Curt Emanuel County Extension Director, Purdue Extension Educator, Boone County, Community Development, Agriculture & Natural Resources cemanuel@purdue.edu
Team Member Scott Gabbard County Extension Director, Purdue Extension Educator, Shelby County, Agriculture & Natural Resources gabbardd@purdue.edu
Team Member Sarah Hanson County Extension Director, Purdue Extension Educator, Johnson County, Agriculture & Natural Resources sspeedy@purdue.edu
Team Member Indraneel Kumar Regional Planner, GIS & Spatial Analyst ikumar@purdue.edu
Team Member Tamara Ogle Purdue Extension Community Development Regional Educator togle@purdue.edu
Team Member Linda Prokopy Professor of Forestry & Natural Resources lprokopy@purdue.edu
Team Member Elysia Rodgers County Extension Director, Purdue Extension Educator, DeKalb County, Agriculture & Natural Resources eberry@purdue.edu
Team Member Kara Salazar Purdue Extension Specialist, Sustainable Communities salazark@purdue.edu
Team Member Michael Schutz Purdue Extension Program Leader, Agriculture & Natural Resources, Professor of Animal Sciences mschutz@purdue.edu
Team Member Angie Tilton Purdue Extension Educator, Hendricks County, Community Development, Agriculture & Natural Resources tilton@purdue.edu
Team Member Daniel Walker Community Planning Extension Specialist walke422@purdue.edu
Team Member Michael Wilcox Purdue Extension Community Development Assistant Program Leader wilcox16@purdue.edu

Contact

Steve Yoder

Steve Yoder

Community Development Regional Educator

yoder46@purdue.edu
928-853-7846

Jeff Burbrink

Jeff Burbrink

Agriculture & Natural Resources Extension Educator

jburbrink@purdue.edu
765-494-4314